Ashio-Dozan Copper Mine

Travel Guide - Ashio-Dozan Copper Mine

Information

Ashio-Dozan Copper Mine was opened by the Tokugawa Shogunate during the Edo Period (1603 - 1868).
The mine and its surroundings were once prosperous as “the mining capital of Japan”, producing 40 percent of the country's copper, which was the highest amount in the East, at its peak.
Ashio-Dozan was closed down in 1973 after over 400 years of its operation.
Today, the mine is restored as a tourist spot and visitors can go into the country’s largest mine exhibit by tram.

Opening Hours

  • 9:00 - 16:30

Closed

  • No closing days

Access / Public Transport

  • 5 minutes walk from Tsudo Station on the Watarase Keikoku Line

Address / Location

* Please click each address to show the location.

Tweets

No tweets found.

Recommended Places

Nikko Toshogu Shrine
Toshogu is one of numerous shrines that enshrine Tokugawa Ieyasu, first Shogun of the Edo Shogunate. It was completed in its present splendor ...  more »
Rinno-ji Temple
Rinno-ji Temple is located at Omotesando (the main approach to the shrine) on the way from Shinkyo Bridge. Rinno-ji, along with Enryaku-ji Te ...  more »
Nikko Futarasan-jinja Shrine
Futarasan-jinja Shrine is dedicated to the three sacred mountains around the shrine: Mt. Nantai-san (or also called Futara-san), Mt. Nyoho-sa ...  more »
Nikko Suginamiki Road (Cedar-lined avenue)
13,000 of giant Japanese cedars line both sides of the road over its entire 37 kilometers length. These cedars were donated to Toshogu Shrine ...  more »
Furukawa Kakemizu Club
Furukawa Kakemizu Club is the western-style reception hall built in 1899 by the Furukawa Company, manager of the Ashio-Dozan mine, for the pu ...  more »
Baelz Memorial Hall
A German physician named Dr. Erwin von Baelz was the first to describe Kusatsu Onsen Hot Spring as "the world's finest spa and health resort" ...  more »
Yudaki Waterfall
Situated at the southern end of Lake Yunoko, Yudaki is a 70 meters high and 25 meters wide waterfall which runs from the lake into the Yukawa ...  more »