The property was originally the residence of a foreign minister in the Meiji Period (1868 - 1912), Munemitsu Mutsu.
Then it owned by the Furukawa family, that ran Furukawa Zaibatsu conglomerates, after Munemitsu's second son was adopted by the family.
The current building and gardens were constructed at that time.
The western-style mansion and garden were designed by Josiah Conder, a British architect who also designed Kyu-Iwasaki-tei, Rokumeikan, and Nicholai-do (The Orthodox Church).
The Japanese-style garden was designed by Jihei Ogawa, a gardener who also designed the garden at Heian-jingu Shrine and Maruyama Park in Kyoto.
After the World War II, the Japanese Zaibatsu conglomerates were dismantled by GHQ and the property became state owned.
Then it was opened to public in response to the request by the local people.
Visitors can enjoy the landscape of a perfect blend of Japanese and Western-style gardens.
- 9:00 – 17:00 *admission until 30 minutes before closing
- December 29 – January 1
Access / Public Transport
- 7 minutes walk from JR Kami-Nakazato Station
- 7 minutes walk from Nishigahara Station on the Tokyo Metro Namboku Line (N15)
- 12 minutes walk from Komagome Station on the JR lines or Tokyo Metro Namboku Line (N14)