There is very little left of Takamatsu Castle, which is located close to JR Takamatsu Station.
The castle grounds, which now form the pleasant Tamamo Park, are only one-ninth their original size.
The castle was originally constructed by Ikoma Chikamasa in 1588.
Then the Ikoma clan was moved to Dewa (today's Akita) by the Tokugawa Shogunate because of their family disputes, and Matsudaira clan (relatives of the Tokugawa family) took over the castle in 1642.
The structures seen today were built by Matsudaira Yorishige in the early Edo Period (1603 - 1868).
The castle was directly faced to the sea until the outer moats were reclaimed during the Meiji Preiod (1868 - 1912).
The moats on three sides were filled with sea water while the sea itself formed the fourth side of the castle.
The inner moats left today are still connected to the sea and visitors can feed red sea breams swimming there.
A couple of turrets still exist here are designated as important cultural properties.
There is also a museum which displays historical items associated with the Matsudaira clan.
- 7:00 - 18:00 (April - September)
- 8:30 - 17:00 (October - March)
- December 29 - 31
Access / Public Transport
- 3 minutes walk from JR Takamatsu Station
- Short walk from Takamatsu-Chikko Station on the Kotoden Kotohira Line