Ueno Toshogu Shrine was built in 1627, dedicated to Tokugawa Ieyasu, the founder of the Tokugawa Shogunate.
The stone Myoujin Otorii (grand shrine gate) stands at the entrance, and the approach to the shrine is lined with 95 stone lanterns (including one of Japan’s three largest stone lanterns) and 195 copper lanterns that were donated by Daimyo feudal lords across the country.
The Kara-mon gate, Haiden and Hondo buildings are all desgnated as Important Cultural Properties.
The grounds also boast the Botan-en peony garden, and Botan Matsuri (peony festivals) are held in spring and winter.
The five storied pagoda near the shrine was donated by chief vassal Doi Toshikatsu in 1639 to commemorate the construction of the Ueno Tosho-gu Shrine.
The pagoda was later made to belong to Kanei-ji Temple by the Meiji government's "separation of Buddhism and Shintoism" policy.
- 9:00 – Sunset
- Botan-en peony garden: 9:00 - 17:00 (mid-April - mid-May)
- Botan-en peony garden: 9:00 - 16:30 (January 1 - mid-February)
- No closing days
- Botan-en peony garden: mid-May - December, mid-February - mid-April
Access / Public Transport
- 5 minutes walk from JR Ueno Station
- 5 minutes walk from Ueno Station on the Tokyo Metro Ginza Line (G16) or Hibiya Line (H17)
- 5 minutes walk from Keisei Ueno Station on the Keisei Main Line (KS01)